Mission Accomplished

It is hard for me to believe that this month of September is on its way out already. I gave myself this challenge, er opportunity, to write a post everyday this month, and while I missed a few days last weekend on a camping trip, I’ve made them up to successfully have posted thirty times for the thirty days of September. I am proud of that.

Writing every day for thirty days has been an enlightening experience. I’ve definitely learned that I need more than one day to write a post I really like. I did better in the beginning, working on drafts of several posts at once and then taking one to publishable form each day. Then I got behind, or busy, or what have you, and I was under the gun to produce publishable material in a couple of hours. Not my style. Sometimes, the words flowed, and I liked what came forth, but other times, I felt dissatisfied. As I move away from the daily publishing, I do hope to continue the daily writing, so that I can produce two or three posts a week that I am proud of.

I learned that writing begets writing. I definitely found I had more to say once I made myself speak on a regular basis. In fact, a few of my posts grew too expansive and had to be divided into multiple posts (a few of which aren’t yet finished).

In Blogging 101, one of the later tasks was to set a schedule, and I completely understand now why they suggest this. Knowing I had to post everyday helped me to pay attention with a writer’s eye, to keep thinking about writing and what I might write about throughout the day. I don’t believe I can keep up with a post-a-day schedule long-term; however, I do want to commit myself to a schedule going forward. I feel like that will keep me on track.

Another task of Blogging 101 that I never got to in the two times I took the course was to create a Blog Feature that was a regular post. I want to do that, but I’m not sure what it might be as of yet. I am still toying with the ideas of reviewing books and passing along links to articles I’ve read that I find particularly interesting.

One of the things I managed to do this month was to experiment with short codes and create a couple of new pages that pull in posts with specific tags. I’m excited about that, and am looking forward to creating a few more menu options that gather related writings.

I also got started on creating a links blogroll, one that doesn’t just pull in the last 10 sites I’ve read posts from, but is a list I can manage. I need to get it updated to list some of you bloggers that I really have enjoyed reading.

Speaking of reading, I feel like that is one of the negative sides of everyday blog posting–at least with my schedule. I was so busy writing that I didn’t get to read many others’ blogs. I hope to get a chance to explore those blogs of people who have read and liked my posts. I do appreciate the traffic. A hearty thank you to all of you reading, liking, and commenting. The feedback and connection is really heartening.

And with that final thought, I’ll say goodnight. Until tomorrow–or maybe the day after tomorrow (wink).

2 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished

  1. About having a regular feature — I has no idea what to do when it was first suggested, since my blog is purely a general, personal blog. Then I realized, hey, I love classic movies, why not do reviews of some of my favorites? I didn’t know how it would work out, but I love doing them, and people seem to like reading them. I think doing book reviews would be a good idea, especially since I suspect your reading choices would be quality ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

