You can’t read cursive?

I was a middle school and high school English teacher. I became quite adept at reading my students’ handwriting, and I hand wrote most of my comments and corrections to students directly onto their papers. I was attempting to teach students how to write, but teaching my students handwriting was not in my purview.

At some point in my teaching career, I came to understand that there must have been a movement in elementary school to dispense with the teaching of cursive writing. The majority of my students were largely unable to read anything written in cursive. Thus all of the comments I spent precious time writing on their papers, in an admittedly difficult-to-decipher blend of cursive and print, were essentially for naught, as they had no hope of decoding my cursive missives.

I do not understand this movement to abandon the teaching of cursive handwriting. I admit that a tremendous amount of writing is done via the keyboard (and incidentally, I don’t believe typing or keyboarding is taught anymore either, which is equally unacceptable in my view). However, there are a number of primary documents that are handwritten in cursive — The Declaration of Independence and The Constitution to name a few. Students should be empowered to read them in their original form. Additionally, cursive writing can be beautiful (certainly not as I employ the practice, but my mother and grandmother both have wonderful penmanship). And let us not forget that students need to be able to read their teachers’ handwritten comments.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Handwritten.”

7 thoughts on “You can’t read cursive?

  1. Belinda you took the words right out of my mouth. It’s sickening to watch our school systems going down hill.
    Our government leaders seem to want our children to become dumber. That’s what happened when you have idiots in office though.
    Thanks for the post.

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading. Yeah, it’s hard to understand what people are thinking. I’d like to give everyone the benefit of the doubt that they have our children’s best interests at heart, but sometimes you wonder…

      Like

Leave a Reply

