A Letter to Liam

Dear Liam,

I am working on your baby book, a neat keepsake photo book by National Geographic (before they were bought out by Fox) called Welcome to the World. Grandma P and Grandpa J gave it to us on their first visit when you were just born. It has beautiful photographs, poetry, and famous quotations in it, as well as space for your dad and me to write down information about you.

There are two pages titled “Our Dreams For You” and “Our Hopes For You.” When your dad and I were talking about what to put on these pages, I had trouble discerning the difference between them, and I also mistakenly thought the space to write under the “hopes for you” heading was larger than the other. So, we came up with this lovely entry of what our hopes for you are, and now it doesn’t fit on the page.

So, I’m going to write it here:

We hope you are confident and curious. We hope that you are independent and adventurous, and that you are compassionate and kind. We hope that you care for the earth and the people, animals, and plants on it. We hope that you laugh easily and smile often, that you see the glass half full rather than half empty. We hope that you are healthy, that you find lasting friendships, and enduring love. We hope that you are honest, but not rude; intelligent, but not arrogant; carefree, but not foolhardy. We hope that you act ethically and let morals and logic be your guide. We hope that you are generous and appreciative of all that you have. And finally, we hope that you forgive us our mistakes and always remember that we love you unconditionally and that your appearance in our lives has made them forever brighter.

Love always, Mommy

3 thoughts on “A Letter to Liam

  1. Indeed. I had no idea how amazing a child is nor the amount of joy one brings to a person’s life. Now that we are parents, I chide myself my insecurities and worry and the wait to actually have a child and wish we had met decades ago (yes, we’re older). But I’m glad I waited for you. I could not have wished for a more perfect mother for my child.

    Like

Leave a Reply

